Committed to Excellence

Recognized for our Expertise

Our accolades continue to reflect our work, our commitment to our firm values, and the results we achieve on behalf of clients.

We take more pride in the work that we do every day on behalf of our clients and our community than any award could possibly indicate, but we are honored nonetheless, to have received a great deal of recognition for our work and for our attorneys across nearly every practice area and industry. Below are some highlights of our firm’s recent awards and accomplishments.

U.S. News & World Report "Best Law Firms"

In 2019, Higgs Fletcher & Mack was named a Tier 1 Metropolitan Best Law Firm in nine practice areas and Tier 2 in six practice areas by U.S. News Best Law Firms®. The “Best Law Firms” rankings are based on a rigorous evaluation process that includes the collection of client and lawyer evaluations, peer review from leading attorneys in their field, and review of additional information provided by law firms as part of the formal submission process.

2020 Best Lawyers in America®
2020 "Lawyer of the Year" Awards

Best Lawyers in America® recognizes individual attorneys with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region. Only one attorney is recognized as the “Lawyer of the Year” for each specialty and location.

2019 Super Lawyers®

Super Lawyers recognizes attorneys who have demonstrated excellence in their legal practice. Each year, no more than five percent of the lawyers in the state are selected by the research team at Super Lawyers to receive this honor. The selection is based on a rigorous process and third-party validation of their professional accomplishments.


Rising Stars recognition is awarded to lawyers under 40 who have practiced for less than 10 years, using the same criteria as Super Lawyer.

Corporate Diversity Award

Higgs Fletcher & Mack is a past recipient of the Earl B. Gilliam Bar Association’s Corporate Diversity Award. The firm’s Diversity Committee Chair, Susan Hack, accepted the award on the firm’s behalf, “Receiving this award is a tremendous honor for Higgs,” said Hack. “Being recognized by this fine organization is a testament to the hard work of our committee and devotion to fostering a culture of inclusion. I’m very proud of the firm’s continued commitment to diversity not only within the firm but also in the legal community.”

Attorneys Appointed to the Bench
  • William A. Glen (Superior Court 1948)
  • Robert W. Conyers (Superior Court 1959)
  • William E. Sommer (Superior Court 1963)
  • Arthur W. Jones (Superior Court 1982)
  • J. Lawrence Irving (U.S. District 1982)
  • Harvey H. Hiber, Jr. (Superior Court 1991)
  • Judith L. Haller (California Court of Appeal 2006)
  • Gregory W. Pollack (Superior Court 2008)
  • Loren G. Freestone (Superior Court 2018)
Members of the American College of Trial Lawyers
  • DeWitt A. Higgs
  • Dan E. Hedin
  • John W. Netterblad
  • J. Lawrence Irving
  • William M. Low (Current Member)
Members of the American Board of Trial Advocates